‘Mortal Kombat 1’ Reveals New Playable Characters Li Mei, Tanya & Baraka and a DLC Kombat Pack

Credit: Warner Bros. Games / NetherRealm Studios

During the Mortal Kombat 1 panel at San Diego Comic-Con, Warner Bros. Games and NetherRealm Studios revealed Li Mei, Tanya, and Baraka as the latest playable characters joining the game’s main roster. All three fighters were showcased in a new trailer focused on the Umgadi, a contingent of warrior priestesses pledged to protect the Outworld royal family, complete with a first look at gameplay and story elements.

Also announced were the six playable characters featured in the post-launch downloadable content (DLC) Kombat Pack, including returning klassic kombatants Quan Chi, Ermac, and Takeda Takahashi, along with guest fighters Peacemaker, Omni-Man, and Homelander.

Mortal Kombat 1 Comic Con
Credit: Warner Bros. Games / NetherRealm Studios

Main Roster & Kameo Fighters:

  • Li Mei – The former member of the Umgadi now serves as a constable in Outworld’s police force and has an array of magical abilities at her disposal
  • Tanya – Leader of the Umgadi, she is a skilled fighter and one of the order’s most trusted members
  • Baraka – An outcast due to the Tarkat plague that has turned him into a deadly monster, he now leads his fellow afflicted Outworlders in battle
  • Darrius – The klassic character returns as a Kameo Fighter, providing support during matches with a range of assisting moves

Kombat Pack:

  • Quan Chi
  • Ermac
  • Takeda Takahashi
  • Peacemaker (Based on DC’s The Suicide Squad film & Peacemaker series on Max)
  • Omni-Man (Based on the original comic book & animated television series Invincible)
  • Homelander* (Based on the hit series The Boys)
  • Jean-Claude Van Damme (Johnny Cage character skin featuring voice & likeness of famed actor & martial artist)
  • Ferra, Johnny Cage, Khameleon, Mavado & Tremor included as Kameo Fighters
  • Kombat Pack is available now for pre-order as part of the Mortal Kombat 1 Premium Edition & Kollector’s Edition


Mortal Kombat 1 is the latest installment in the acclaimed Mortal Kombat videogame franchise developed by award-winning NetherRealm Studios and introduces a reborn Mortal Kombat Universe set in a new story with iconic heroes and villains reimagined as they’ve never been seen before. The game features a wide-ranging cast of legendary fighters with all-new backstories, including Liu Kang, Scorpion, Sub-Zero, Raiden, Kung Lao, Kitana, Mileena, Shang Tsung, Johnny Cage, Kenshi, Smoke, Li Mei, Tanya, Baraka, and more, along with a separate roster of Kameo Fighters who can assist during matches.

Mortal Kombat 1 is scheduled to launch for PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, Nintendo Switch, and PC (Steam and Epic Games Store) on Sept. 19, 2023. All Mortal Kombat 1 pre-orders will receive Shang Tsung as an in-game playable character, and those who pre-order the game for PlayStation 5 or Xbox Series X|S will also receive access to the Mortal Kombat 1 Beta, which will be available in August 2023.